Replies

• As a music teacher, I have experienced AFL daily in improving performance.
  • I want my students to do an assignment and to get feedback immediately if I am using AFL.  I do not want to do assignments that are not checked or analyzed or discussed.  I want them to feel successful, or to know immediately the reasons they were unsuccessful.  I think many students prefer to get the grade and move on...they might not care so much about the learning.
  • As a cosmetology instructor,  I tell my students that no grade is ever final they can re-test at any time to better their grade.

Nyana Malone

• My personal experience was read the book and take a test (although I do remember a lot of discussions and discussion grades in my upper level high school classes).
  • My son had a teacher in 3rd grade that gave a pre-spelling test and if
    a child made 100 then she would give them another list.  Now, that is
    all well and good but the words went from  a list such as - learn,
    teach, student, to words like - encyclopedia, thermometer, and
    assessment.  It did not take my son long to realize that he did not
    want to  make a 100.  She did not give them credit at all for the first
    test.  I tried to make her understand that  he saw it as a punishment
    to  make a good grade on the pretest.  She never understood and he
    never made another 100  Nyana Malone
  • My Latin teacher in high school would lecture and then say "Let's write a little bit!"  every day assessment.